Sandy Eggo, the first update.

 

 

[[Oz & I visiting Lake Jennings on our way to see some puppies!]]

Well, almost two months of an OzandBee hiatus isn’t so bad right? I’ve stepped away from my previous blogs for much longer, to be honest. But I’m not back to discuss hiatus records. To keep up with being honest, I’ve actually been desiring to get back to writing again about the good and the bad and the life in between, but my procrastination mixed with the overwhelming feeling of playing “catch up” on here has been far more powerful. So today, I’m not going to worry about including every detail from our journey home till now…I’ll let them sneak in here and there as they come. Instead, I just want to keep up with this thing…I liked documenting our adventures. And even though we’re no longer traveling southern China, there are plenty of exciting trips going on in the beautiful southern California worthy of noting in the blogosphere.

It’s taken a while to feel normal again in our own state, city and community. I think the more accurate statement would be we are still trying. We don’t want to actually feel normal again…our old normal was part of the reason we ran away for three months. Old ways, old habits, old mindsets, old old, moldy and gross (to be dramatic). What we are trying to do is to learn how to walk in the new ways, new habits and new mindsets that Father helped cultivate in us while we were in LJ. We learned how to do that overseas, but to come back to such familiarity and try to function in our new dynamic is not as easy of a task as I hoped it would be. And I think with some of the things we’ve faced since being home, I’m realizing that the process our sovereign Father had us in didn’t conclude when the plane left Beijing on September 4th. He has so much more depth waiting for us to dive into. He has so much more healing and growth for us. Healing and growth that could not have happened in our beautiful, yet temporary home overseas, but can only take place in this home.

The familiar one.

The journey continues. The learning continues. And in the midst of some discouragement and struggle, my heart is genuinely relieved about it. I see that God does not wrap our amazing experiences in the best paper with the prettiest bow and set it on a shelf to glance at or simply remember…He builds on them. He widens them and deepens them. He shows us something we think is life-changing and amazing and so exciting, then says, that’s only the beginning. It’s simply  o n e piece of the incredible work of art He is designing. The difference? He sees the whole while I see only in part. And when I take my eyes off of Him, that’s when the discouragement creeps in. I’ve been looking at an unfinished product. To speak in pictures, life is more like a flowing stream than a patchy field of ponds. Thank goodness. Lets keep moving.

The places He brought me to in LJ — vulnerability, willingness and humility — are the places I know I can’t leave if I want to continue on this adventure with Him. It has been in my brokenness that He has healed and restored me. And I consider being back in SD as phase two.

The adjustments to life in SD have not all been difficult. We got to come back to an amazing community and families that love us. And although the summer weather didn’t get the memo that it’s now Fall — I can’t complain. It is truly no wonder why so many people desire vacationing here. We’ve had the chance to catch up with people we missed so dearly and have taken a couple weekend get-a-ways to ease into life here. Photo updates are bound to happen as soon as I can get to it. 🙂

Thanks to everyone who walked with us this summer. It was really encouraging to keep in touch via this blog and emails. We cherish all of your comments and the time you spent reading up on our whereabouts. So, here’s to phase two! I trust it’ll be just as exciting as the first. 😉 Our next batch of writings will most likely include the adventures of weekend trips to the mountains and (hopefully) some lakes too, my answer-to-prayer of a new job, and of course our journey through marriage and life here in SD.

Feeling less overwhelmed,

Bee

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Sandy Eggo, the first update.

  1. […] leaving our home we grew to love and belong to. Here‘s a flashback to before we left and one here for the first update being home. I can’t begin to tell you how much is still hidden in […]

Leave a Reply

