Tee Gee Eye Eff

Cheers to the weekend! Oz just left to his parents house to make something quite amazing for our still-bare apartment! I am so thrilled to have the new piece in our living room by next week! Pictures to come…I hear they are worth a thousand words.

This weekend we are going to celebrate two dear friends at their wedding! I love, love, love weddings. And thankfully, being a quarter of a century in age means we get to attend lots of weddings. I mean, a lot.

I’ve been getting more work lately which is such a blessing! I love working as an American Sign Language interpreter and its a bonus that I get to work with kids! Two of my greatest passions all in one job. However, today is a day off and I’ve been quite slow with getting out the door. It’s half passed three and I’m almost ready to “start” my errands. As I leave, I’m keeping the following in mind to remember what is actually important.

beauty

I am trying to cultivate a mindset that keeps things simple. I tend to over-analyze, over-think, over-decorate, save, store and hoard things I don’t need, haven’t used and won’t used. This week I am working on my closet. Having just moved, we see how much stuff we have. Clothes, shoes, bags, doilies (i know, odd…), rugs, art supplies, chotskies & other trinkets, picture frames, etc. I could honestly go on.

And on.

And on.

And on.

But by simplifying our belongings it really cleans out our thoughts and frees us from whatever hold those extras had on us, however they had it. And with all that clutter gone, my heart breathes again and I see again the many many many blessings Oz and I have in our sweet life. There is room again to appreciate the amazing gifts from our Father instead of be consumed with the unnecessary and not actually beneficial add-ons that at some point I thought I couldn’t (or shouldn’t) live without.

So here’s to an amazing weekend, glorious in all its simplicity.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Tee Gee Eye Eff

  1. MommaBee says:

    Yea! Leave that “over think” and “I can’t get rid of that” thinking behind. Can’t imagine where you picked up those two different traits 🙂
    So funny – your dad has been speaking on simplifying our lives (so that God can be magnified and so that his significance is realized) Simplifying is a great theme for 2013.

    You go sweet girl!

Leave a Reply

